Purnima 2016 Dates

What is Purnima (पूर्णिमा)| Meaning

According to Hindu Mythology full moon day is known as Purnima. Purnima is a Sanskrit word meaning full moon. Purnima is also known as Poonam.

Significance of Purnima

Purnima is measured as a time of immense power that’s why in Hindu mythology there is great importance of doing jap, tap and tantra Sadhna on Purnima. Also taking dip in Holy River is considered as washing out all your sins.

Purnima Fast Benefits (Vrat)

As there is deep relation between human body and moon, that’s why it’s very auspicious to keep fast on Purnima. Also visiting the temple is very auspicious.

Purnima Calender 2016 | Dates of Purnima Days in 2016

Purnima constantly falls at the start or end  of the every month. Following are the Purnima dates for 2016:

23 January (Saturday) Paush Purnima
22 February (Monday) Magha Purnima
23 March (Wednesday) Phalguna Purnima
22 April (Friday) Chaitra Purnima
21 May (Saturday) Vaishakha Purnima
20 June (Monday) Jyeshtha Purnima
19 July (Tuesday) Ashadha Purnima
18 August (Thursday) Shravana Purnima
16 September (Friday) Bhadrapada Purnima
16 October (Sunday) Ashwin Purnima
14 November (Monday) Kartik Purnima
13 December (Tuesday) Margashirsha Purnima